There were over 300 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nations at the time of colonisation, and 600 dialects spoken. Perhaps just 100 of these languages still survive, and are at risk of being lost within the next generation.

To see the location of each of these language groups, have a look at the map below.

You can open the map in your browser, and use the search function to see which nation has custodianship over a particular location. This might be helpful when doing an acknowledgement of country.

Please note that the boundaries in this map are intended as a guide only, and do not claim to be exact. The boundaries are at times contested and may not be agreed to by some traditional owners.