We acknowledge all First Peoples of this land and celebrate their enduring connections to Country, knowledge and stories. We pay our respects to Elders and Ancestors who watch over us and guide Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community.

This space contains images, voices and stories from people that have passed away.


First Nations Place Names of Major Cities

Using traditional place names is truth-telling in action. It's a step towards acknowledging First Nations sovereignty. It’s also a meaningful way to strengthen and regenerate First Languages

Below are the traditional place names of some of Australia’s major cities. Please note this list is not definitive. Alternative place names and alternative spellings may exist.

Importantly, each city is located on the sovereign and unceded Country of First Nations people. In general, acknowledging Country is not the same as using traditional place names. For example, Boorloo is the traditional place name for Perth, but Boorloo is located on Whadjuk Noongar Country.

  • Mparntwe (Alice Springs)⁠ - Arrernte Country
  • Tarndanya (Adelaide)⁠ - Kaurna Country
  • Meanjin (Brisbane)⁠ - Yuggera/Jagera and Turrbal Country
  • Gimuy (Cairns)⁠ - Yirriganydji and Yidinji Country
  • Canberra - Ngambri and Ngunnawal Country
  • Gulumoerrgin (Darwin)⁠ - Larrakia Country
  • nipaluna (Hobart)⁠ - nipaluna country
  • Naarm (Melbourne)⁠ - Wurundjeri and Boon Wurrung Country
  • Boorloo (Perth)⁠ - Whadjuk Noongar Country
  • Warrane (Sydney Cove) - Gadigal Country

Top image: Shutterstock
This article has been written by
People who read this also read

Keep reading...