First Nations Place Names of Major Cities

February 17, 2022
October 28, 2022
Last Updated
October 20, 2022
Written by
The Common Ground Team
Written by
Written by

Using traditional place names is truth-telling in action. It's a step towards acknowledging First Nations sovereignty.

It’s also a meaningful way to strengthen and regenerate First Languages

Below are the traditional place names of some of Australia’s major cities. Please note this list is not definitive. Alternative place names and alternative spellings may exist.

Importantly, each city is located on the sovereign and unceded Country of First Nations people. In general, acknowledging Country is not the same as using traditional place names. For example, Boorloo is the traditional place name for Perth, but Boorloo is located on Whadjuk Noongar Country.

  • Mparntwe (Alice Springs)⁠ — Arrernte Country
  • Tarndanya (Adelaide)⁠ — Kaurna Country
  • Meanjin (Brisbane)⁠ — Yuggera/Jagera and Turrbal Country
  • Gimuy (Cairns)⁠ — Yirriganydji and Yidinji Country
  • Canberra — Ngambri and Ngunnawal Country
  • Gulumoerrgin (Darwin)⁠ — Larrakia Country
  • nipaluna (Hobart)⁠ — nipaluna country
  • Naarm (Melbourne)⁠ — Wurundjeri and Boon Wurrung Country
  • Boorloo (Perth)⁠ — Whadjuk Noongar Country
  • Warrane/Warrang (Sydney Cove) — Gadigal Country
5 min
5 min
5 min